2016/2/26

Journey of sustainability reporting: From exception to the corporate reporting norm.

Dr. Mohammad Badrul Haider, Associate Professor (BS)

I welcome all of you to the IBA Research Forum. I am a relatively new member to this society. I joined in Kwansei Gakuin Family in April, 2014. In this occasion, I take the opportunity to share my research interest with you. I am studying sustainability accounting, reporting, and auditing for the last few years. Some of you, may be aware of these concepts, especially, as Japan is in a leading position of such voluntary reporting practice.

We have seen significant development in sustainability reporting over the last three decades. While a small number of Multinational Companies started to report on their social and environmental performance during 1990s, KPMG survey in 2015 documents that more than 90 percent of global leading companies now regularly publish such reports. These reports are variously named including Social and Environmental Report, CSR (Corporate Social Responsibility) Report, Corporate Citizenship Report, Environment, Social, and Governance (ESG) Report, Triple Bottom Line (TBL) Report, and Sustainability Report.